So, this is happening…

As an only child having never experienced younger siblings, I was never one of those kids who jumped at the opportunity to babysit for the neighborhood families. I was deathly afraid of being responsible for the well-being of a younger child. I had no idea how diapers worked (this is still applicable), or how much food to give kids. Do they eat half of what I would eat? What do I do with bottles? Are jelly beans an acceptable form of food? Now, having some experience with the day-to-days of children at work, I’m more comfortable with the idea of school-age children, but babies are still frightening for me. They don’t use words. They communicate with facial expressions and subtle (and sometimes, not so subtle) gestures. And now, my fellow only-child husband and I are going to have one of our own in a mere 4.25 months. And, on top of the initial excitement and shock (and months of constant nausea; whoever coined the term ‘morning sickness’ is a boldface liar), we just found out ‘it’ is a girl. Now, “Sprout” (our affectionate nickname for this tadpole of a creature in my belly) has a defining characteristic. So, to embrace this pregnancy and the summer heat (and my complete laziness), I wanted to share a quick and yummy (and healthy!) snack that’s full of good stuff like coconut water and fruit. Yes, it’s Pinterest-inspired. And you bet I’m gonna be noshing on these indefinitely. Maybe once girl Sprout is born, I’ll graduate to some boozy popsicles (apparently the term is ‘poptail’??? Who knew?)… but until then, here’s a favorite:

Piña Colada  Mocktail Popsicle (makes enough for approx. 4 popsicles):

½ Banana

½ C Coconut Water

½ C pineapple chunks

 

Put it Together:

  1. Throw all your ingredients into a blender.
  2. Blend.
  3. Pour blended ingredients into popsicle molds.
  4. Freeze for at least 5 hours.
  5. If popsicles don’t come out of the molds easily, run the molds under warm water for 5-10 seconds. They’ll pop right out J

 

The great thing about popsicles is that there are endless combinations of flavors you can experiment with. I have a watermelon that I can’t wait to blend into a popsicle. Or, check out this gorgeous tri-flavored popsicle from Edible Perspective. Pretty sure I’m going to have to make that one next! Happy Summer!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

